In order to access many of the databases and e-resources listed below, you will need to be logged in using your Southern Profile (i.e. your Canvas username and password).
You can log in:
Patrons can access electronic books through the library website.
Journals and articles can be accessed through various means.
Books++tab which searches through the Library's catalog.
Articlestab on the main search bar for searching for articles.
You can search for journals and articles directly through our databases.
The Library's selection of databases can be accessed through our Databases & E-Resources page.
Articlestab does not mean we do not have access to it! It is always best to try searching for an article through multiple ways.
There is often much confusion as to what is defined as a database. This will explain some of the items that can be found on the Databases & E-Resources page.
Some databases are designed for searching through periodicals (i.e. journals, magazines). These include, but are not limited to:
The Library has electronic access to world class dictionaries, such as:
The Library has electronic access to full books through various databases that may not always be found through the Library catalog. These resources include:
Through May 31st, Cambridge University Press on Cambridge Core has made 1000's of textbooks available for free. These can be accessed through Cambridge Journals Online.
There are many, many other resources available on the Databases & E-Resources page, including resources relating to:
With so much available, you will be able to continue your studies even from a distance!
Patrons may request scans of articles or portions of a book within copyright limitations (typically 1 chapter or 10% of a work).
If the Library does not own the item that you need, you can still request it but delivery may be contingent on the lending library's current situation.
For articles, see this page.
For chapter requests, follow the instruction on this page and add a note stating the page ranges that you need.
The ILL staff can be reached at email@example.com.
There are many older resources that are available in the public domain. If the resource you need is old (before 1920), likely it has been digitized already and is available online.
Some resources include: