The focus of this one-volume encyclopedic dictionary is primarily on the literary methods of the Greco-Roman society and culture that influenced the writing of the in New Testament and early Christian literature, and secondarily on the contemporary methods used by scholars to interpret and understand this literature. Entries are alphabetical by topic. Asterisked words or phrases indicate that there is a separate entry for the term. Each entry ends with a list of related entries. Most articles also come with a bibliography with abbreviated entries consisting of the last names of authors and the dates of publications; complete bibliographical information is provided at the end of the volume.
Although the title says “encyclopedia” this work is more a chronology of the history of Christian martyrdom. Each chapter covers a different time period, starting with the New Testament and ending with the 20th century. Within each chapter, coverage is chronological, with the exception of the last chapter, which groups its subjects according geographical location. Background on the historical context for certain aspects of martyrdom is provided through the “Historical features” which are interspersed throughout the text. According to the compiler, the criteria for persons covered was inclusive: “The editorial policy this book takes on this matter is to be inclusive and to include any person who as put to death for their Christian faith…Also included are people who died in the place of others…” Basically, this work provides excerpts from writings about the martyrs. There are around 80 sources drawn from, most notably Foxe’s Book of Martyrs as well the writings of Eusebius. Each chapter provides a detailed table of contents for the chapter. An introduction compiled from the sources used begins each chapter, and then the individual martyrs are covered. The intended audience for this work is less the scholar than it is the believing Christian; nevertheless, this collection of some of the primary historical writings on martyrdom is an excellent resource for the historian of Christianity. A bibliography is provided at the end of the volume, as well as an index.
Attempts "to list every Christian woman who wrote before 1500 C.E. and her writings that have appeared in print since 1800"--Introd. Organized roughly chronologically, entries each give a brief description of the person or work they contain, occasionally followed by citations to secondary works. Intended to be a usable guide for non-specialists as well as a reference source for scholars in a number of different disciplines.
This is a 7-volume work in French. The index is organized in the order of the Biblical books, starting with Genesis, and ending with Revelation (indicated as AP for Apocalypse of John). The organization is by columns: first column indicates the book, second the chapter, third is the verses, 4th is the Patristic author who has cited this verse, 5th is the work in which it is cited, and 6th through 10th cover the book (volume), chapter, paragraph, page and line. The Patristic writers indexed in each volume are grouped chronologically – that is, Vol. 1 covers earliest writings from the Patristic period, Vol. 2 covers next earliest writings, and so on. Abbreviations are used for the texts and collections of texts, and a list of abbreviations is before the actual index begins. This is an indispensable tool for Patristic studies.
Covers the Greek Fathers up to John of Damascus (d. ca. 749), including the literature of the Church Councils and catenae. Lists known works by author with references to published texts and secondary literature. Indexes by book of the Bible and topic are included. This and the Clavis Patrum Latinorum serve as the foundational documents for the Greek and Latin Texts published in the series Corpus Christianorum.
This two-volume work is a collection of essays on important issues and figures in patristic exegesis, including Christian interpreters of scripture from the rise of Christianity to the eighth century. The first chapter summarizes the scholarship since the end of the World War II, providing an extensive list of resources for further research, including primary sources (texts and translations), tools for research, studies on patristic sources, journals, and bibliographic tools. Following that are general treatments of issues in the study of patristic exegesis (Judaism and Rhetorical Culture, Patristic Hermeneutics, and Patristic Exegesis of the Books of the Bible), with the second half of the first volume and all of the second devoted to studies of patristic exegesis divided first into chapters by chronological era and language (Greek/Latin) and then into sections by school or individual exegete. There are also sections on Syriac Christianity, Armenian, Georgian, Ethiopian, and Coptic exegesis, and an epilogue on Bede. A number of “Special Contributors,” distinguished scholars in their fields, contributed essays on major figures. Each section includes a bibliography of editions, translations, and studies for further research. There is an alphabetical list of principal authors and anonymous works discussed, as well as a list of abbreviations, at the beginning of the book. There is, unfortunately, no subject index, making an already lengthy and dense work even more unwieldy, and reviewers have found errors and inconsistencies in the quality of essays, though the Special Contributions are quite good. Despite these caveats, this is a unique work and invaluable for advanced study in patristic exegesis.
This series, which characterizes itself as “a Christian Talmud” (Oden, General Introduction), provides excerpts from patristic exegetes for each book of the Bible. The commentaries in this series cover the period from the end of the New Testament era to the Venerable Bede (c. 750). Each volume contains commentary on one or more books of the Bible (some books are split into two volumes), with an introduction to the book or books under consideration, the biblical texts divided into pericopes (rather than chapters), and excerpts from the fathers following each pericope. The patristic texts are excerpted from existing English translations, when available, in some cases updated for modern readers, or translated for the volume if no translation already exists. Footnotes refer the reader to English translations (when available) and Greek/Latin sources. Excerpts tend to be brief, usually no more than a paragraph. Each volume also contains an appendix to early Christian writers and the documents cited, a timeline of patristic writers, biographical sketches for each author, bibliographies of works in original languages and English translations, and indexes of authors, subjects, and scriptural references. While this series is intended largely for a lay audience, the excerpts quoted from the Fathers do not have the depth of those in the Church’s Bible (see below), and the authors of this series do not have the same scholarly reputation, the ACCS has the advantage of being complete, and the student will find it useful for learning what commentary exists for each book of the Bible and what sources to pursue for further reading.