Skip to main content

Reformation Studies

A guide to research and research tools for the history and theology of the European Reformations

Journals and Articles

The following journals are but a few of the recognized authoritative journals in the field of Reformation studies and may prove to helpful sources of serial literature.

 

Databases

The ATLA Religion Database. [Proprietary]

The ATLA Religion Database is an essential tool for the study of religion. It is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Journals representing all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and numerous language groups are included. ATLA’s indexing of multi-author works, such as Festschriften and conference proceedings, is unique among religion databases. Unlike indexes that catalog books of essays as a single entry, ATLA indexes each individual essay in such works.

Academic Search Premier. [Proprietary]

A major proprietary academic database from EBSCO. Best results are obtained through the Advanced Search with subject headings and keywords.

 

Journals

Some of these journals are available online through the library's E-Journals A-Z List.

Archiv fur Reformationsgeschichte. SBTS General Collections Periodicals - Main Floor : SERIALS .Ar25furb

Contains a years volume of abstracts of Reformation studies. 1903 -- An international journal which publishes articles relating to aspects of early modern European religious life and thought that touch on the Reformation and Catholic/Counter Reformation movements and is published under the auspices of the Verein für Reformationsgeschichte and the Society for Reformation Research.

Catholic Historical Review. 1915 to date. Available also on microfilm. SBTS General Collections Periodicals - Main Floor : SERIALS .C286h

Church History. 1889 to date. SBTS General Collections Periodicals - Main Floor : SERIALS .C475hh

Journal of Ecclesiastical History. 1950 to date.

Journal of Religious History. Sydney, 1960 to date. Semiannual. SBTS General Collections Periodicals - Main Floor : SERIALS .J826ec

Sixteenth Century Journal. 1972 to date. Available also on microfilm. SBTS General Collections Periodicals - Main Floor : SERIALS .Si97tec

Each issue includes the "Bibliography of American Periodical Literature."