Skip to main content

Patristics and Early Christianity

BIBLindex

BIBLindex

BIBLindex is searchable index of biblical quotations and allusions in early Christian literature.  The site is currently in beta testing and requires users to register with a user name and password.  The search interface allows searching by biblical citation and/or by author. 

Early Church Texts

Early Church Texts

The Early Church Texts web site provides access to primary texts from the 1st to the 5th century of the church.  Texts have online dictionary links, English translations, and notes. The site also has a number of subscription options to allow for printing out the texts and associated background information and notes.

Early Christian Writings

Early Christian Writings

Early Christian Writings provides access to online editions of Christian texts from the 1st to the early 3rd centuries. The web site is divided into five areas: New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and Other.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL)

 

The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is an online source for classic Christian writings.  The Early Church Fathers section of the CCEL site provides English translations of the Church Fathers from the Ante-Nicene and Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers series, a set of late nineteenth century translations now available in the public domain.  The Ante-Nicene Fathers covers writers from the Apostolic Fathers to 325.  The Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers consists of Series I (Augustine and John Chrysostom) and Series II (other Greek and Latin Fathers from Eusebius to Gregory the Great).  Each volume contains a table of contents (which unfortunately is not collapsible and can be difficult to navigate) and indexes of scripture references, phrases in the relevant ancient and modern languages, and pages in the print edition.  The library is searchable from the main CCEL page.  While more modern translations of the Fathers are usually available in print form, those at the CCEL are free and easily accessible.  The user should be aware of the devotional nature of the site.  The same material is available in a somewhat different format at Early Church Fathers v2.0, which also contains additional material linked from CCEL, and New Advent, a Catholic devotional site.  The latter has the advantage of listing authors alphabetically by name rather than by NPNF volume, in which it can be difficult to find authors if the volume in which they appear is unknown.

Roger Pearse

Pearse’s blog covers developments in early Christianity and antiquity and is particularly concerned with online access to ancient texts.  Pearse maintains a site with the texts of the Ante-Nicene and Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers (similar to CCEL) as well as the Tertullian Project and the Additional Fathers in English translation, all linked from his blog.  Cluster tags in the right-hand sidebar also guide the reader to posts by keyword.  Of special interest are posts on patristics and also information access, the latter of which brings up all posts concerning new patristic materials posted online.  There is also a blogroll of blogs on related topics.  Blogs on patristics tend to contain posts on personal and devotional topics as well as the church fathers; this blog is probably the most on-topic for readers searching for scholarly material.  Other blogs that occasionally cover patristic exegesis include The Way of the Fathers and the biblical studies agregate blog Biblioblogs.