While this is a general work covering the entire history of Christianity and all related topics, including persons, places, writings, schools of thought, theological terms, and so on, it is an excellent source for quick reference and beginning research, an essential one-volume reference on Christianity for any collection. Contributors include scholars and clergy, although individual articles are unattributed. Concise, almost spare entries provide birth and death dates for individual figures when available, cross-references to related topics, an overview of each figure, and most importantly for researchers, a bibliography of texts, translations, and studies. There is a list of abbreviations at the beginning of the work and a list of popes and antipopes at the end. The researcher will find this reference invaluable for quick reference on unfamiliar topics mentioned in other works and easily accessible bibliography when other specialized reference works are unwieldy or unavailable.
Location: SBTS General Collections Bookstacks - Main Library: Call Number: BR95 .O8 1974 c.1
This two-volume encyclopedia covers Christianity primarily from the life of Jesus to the seventh century and is geared toward general readers and students as well as specialists. Entries include “persons, places, doctrines, practices, art, liturgy, heresies, and schisms.” Contributors are specialists in their fields and all articles are signed. There are some black-and-white illustrations and maps. Entries provide dates when known, the significance of the person/topic, a biography or summary, and a bibliography, including texts, translations, and studies, as well as recommendations on related entries. Articles on books of the Bible discuss the interpretation of each book by early Christians and list commentaries and other exegetical works by patristic authors. There is also discussion of the use of books of the Bible in early Christian liturgy and iconography. The first volume contains a list of abbreviations which is necessary for extrapolating bibliographic information from articles in both volumes, as well as a chronology of secular rulers, bishops, church leaders and writers, and events. The second volume contains a subject index. Alongside The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, this resource is invaluable for introductory research on topics in early Christianity, and includes entries on some topics the other reference omits.
An international team of more than 160 scholars contributed to this two-volume reference work on early Christianity. Coverage includes major and minor figures of the period, as well as the relationship between Christianity and the pagan world. The encyclopedia covers the period from the beginning of Christianity to Bede in the West and John of Damascus in the east (about the middle of the eighth century). All articles are signed. There is a list of abbreviations in the first volume and a synoptic table that provides a timeline of secular and ecclesiastical events and cultural and doctrinal matters, maps (bicolor), illustrations (some in color, but not integrated with the text), and an index in the second volume. Articles on individual writers describe their life, works, and thought, with bibliographies covering texts, translations, and studies. There are also articles on individual books of the Bible, which discuss patristic exegesis and the depiction of biblical themes in iconography. The translation from Italian can be rather stilted and style and organization are inconsistent across articles, but the authors leave no doubt of their authority. This work is worth consulting alongside other general reference works for an introduction and further reading on topics in early Christianity.
This work is a translation of the German work, Lexikon der Antiken Christlichen. The scope of the work is patristic literature, which in this work not only includes church fathers writing from the first centuries of the church in both the East and the West, but also the writings of Christian Gnostics and the manuscripts found at Nag Hammadi. There are also articles on more general issues such as translation, literary genres (dialogues, epistles, vitas, etc.), schools and the languages of early Christian writing. The work is extremely comprehensive. Entries range from a paragraph in length to several pages. Entries on more important figures (Ambrose of Milan, Augustine, for example) tend to divide into biography, works and teachings. According to the Forward, the focus is less on the impact of the writer’s work on later theology and more on the importance of the work for the writer’s contemporaries. There is a list of the more than 100 contributors to this work, most of whom are European patristics scholars. Bibliographies appear at the end of each article, and are divided, where applicable, into sources (indicated by “S”), works (indicated by “W”), and literature (indicated by “L”). An index of names is provided. This is an indispensable reference work for the patristic scholar, most especially because of its comprehensiveness.
"Includes books and articles selected for their value and accessibility to students; entries offer evaluative, useful annotations and employ symbols to indicate sourcebooks, summary articles, general works, and book reviews... Excludes specifically New Testament materials; includes important materials on the Roman empire. Modern author index and general index."
"Lists almost 200 bibliographies published as books, parts of books, journal articles, in encyclopedias, etc. Most entries are annotated and reviews are often noted. Armenian, Ethiopian, Georgian and Arabic literature are excluded; Syriac literature was not searched exhaustively."
Issued annually. Currently only published up through v.33/35 (1988/1990). "A committee of patristic scholars of various confessions contributes to this listing of studies about the early Christian Fathers and related historical and theological topics. Each volume contains more than 3,000 entries in a classed arrangement, with entries repeated under appropriate subjects. Includes book reviews and author index."
Volume 1: The
Beginnings of Patristic Literature, 1962.
Volume 2: The Ante-Nicene Fathers after Irenaeus, 1962.
Volume 3: The Golden Age of Greek Patristic Literature From the Council of Nicaea to the Council of Chalcedon, 1960.
Volume 4: The Golden Age of Latin Patristic Literature From the Council of Nicaea to the Council of Chalcedon, 1986.
This work, currently in four volumes, is an introductory resource to patristic writings from the apostolic fathers to the Council of Chalcedon in 451. The first volume includes an introduction with bibliography on general works and ancient Christian literature, the Fathers of the Church, editions of early Christian literature, and the language of the Fathers. The rest of the first volume and subsequent volumes are devoted to chapters on periods, genres, and schools of thought in ancient Christian writing. Chapters are divided into introductory sections and sections on each author, including a short biography, an annotated list of the author’s works, and description of theological and mystical aspects of the author’s writing when appropriate, with a bibliography of editions, translations, and studies. All volumes contain indexes of biblical references, ancient Christian writers, modern authors, and a general subject index. While the earlier volumes of Patrology in particular are outdated for bibliographic purposes, it serves as an excellent introduction to patristic authors, with more in-depth information than that found in general reference works, and covers both major writers and obscure authors difficult to find in other sources.