Skip to main content

Oxford Handbooks Online

A guide for accessing and using the Oxford Handbooks Online

Finding Content

Below you will find instructions for finding content in various ways.

Browse the Handbooks

One simple way to find relevant content is to browse the handbooks by subject.

  • Navigate to the OHO website.
  • In the Browse by Subject section at the top of the page, click religion, philosophy, or history.
  • Click the Books tap.

You now see the front cover for every handbook available in the subject you selected. Browse the titles, and if you find a handbook relevant to your research, you can click the title link to access the essays it contains.

Find a Particular Handbook

If you are looking for a particular handbook, you can simply type the title into the search bar at the top right of the OHB home page.


  • Type the following into the search bar: Oxford Handbook of the Dead Sea Scrolls
  • Hit enter
  • Select the books tab

You can now see the Oxford Handbook of the Dead Sea Scrolls at the top of the search results.

Word/Phrase Search

You can use the search bar at the top of the OHO home page to search by word or phrase.

If you are working on a Theology paper concerning Christology, type the word Christology into the search box and hit enter.

Start with the hits found in the books tab. Here, you can see places where the word Christology appears in the title or table of contents of the handbooks. If your search results are sorted by relevance, you will see the Oxford Handbook of Christology at the top and several handbooks below where the word Christology appears in the titles of essays. Several other handbooks are also listed with relevant results.

Your next step will be to click on the title of each handbook you are interested in and read the articles you find relevant. Don't forget to check the bibliography at the end of each essay for leads on other key resources.